2014 Lassiter Conference
Adjunct Faculty
Faculty Directory
Faculty in the Media
Staff Directory

Profile >> Melissa N. Henke

Director, Legal Research and Writing Program, and Assistant Professor of Legal Research and Writing

Faculty / Administration




Curriculum Vitae:
Click here to access

Melissa N. Henke is the UK College of Law’s first full-time Director of Legal Research and Writing. In addition to serving as Director, Henke teaches legal writing. She is a member of the Legal Writing Institute and the Association of Legal Writing Directors.

Prior to joining UK Law, she was an Associate Professor of Legal Research and Writing at the Georgetown University Law Center. Before she began teaching full-time, Henke practiced law with the Washington, D.C. firm Hogan & Hartson (now Hogan Lovells), where she represented clients in a wide range of commercial litigation matters, including breach of contract and business torts, and defended against nationwide RICO and state class actions involving the healthcare field. In 2007 and 2008, she served as the senior associate in the law firm’s premiere pro bono practice group, litigating high-impact and individual pro bono matters involving civil rights, employment discrimination, wrongful convictions, and immigration. Before joining Hogan & Hartson in 2002, she clerked for Judge Gary Allen Feess of the U.S. District Court for the Central District of California. She also served as an adjunct professor of legal research and writing at the George Washington University Law School in the 2004 and 2006 academic years.

Henke earned her J.D. with highest honors from the George Washington University Law School in 2001, and graduated summa cum laude from the University of Kentucky in 1998.

Albertina Antognini
Richard C. Ausness
Scott R. Bauries
Jennifer Bird-Pollan
Carolyn S. Bratt
David A. Brennen
Tina M. Brooks
Rutheford B Campbell
Marianna Jackson Clay
Allison Connelly
Mary J. Davis
James M. Donovan
Joshua A. Douglas
Anthony Paul Farley
William H. Fortune
Christopher W. Frost
Brian L. Frye
Eugene R. Gaetke
Alvin L. Goldman
Louise E. Graham
Jane Grisé
Roberta M. Harding
Kristin J. Hazelwood
Michael P. Healy
Melissa N. Henke
Nicole Huberfeld
Mark F. Kightlinger
Diane B. Kraft
Robert G. Lawson
Cortney E. Lollar
Douglas Michael
Kathryn L. Moore
Karen A. Nuckolls
Melynda J. Price
John M. Rogers
Franklin Runge
Paul E. Salamanca
Collin D. Schueler
Robert G. Schwemm
Beau Steenken
Richard H. Underwood
Ryan A. Valentin
Stephen J. Vasek, Jr.
Harold R. Weinberg
Sarah N. Welling
Richard A. Westin
Andrew K. Woods

University of Kentucky College of Law
ABA Required Disclosures - Standard 509About Our FacilitiesDirectoryGetting HereLife in LexingtonNewsPromotion of Diversity and InclusionUK Law Strategic Plan
ABA Required Disclosures - Standard 509Admissions ProcessAdmissions StaffLaw School BasicsScholarships and Financial AidVisiting UK Law
Academic CalendarsAcademic RegulationsAcademic Success Bar Exam InfoClinical/Public InterestCurrent ScheduleCurriculum and Course PlanningFirst AssignmentsFormsHonor CodeLegal Research and Writing Pro Bono and Community EngagementRegistrationStudent OrganizationsStudent ServicesStudy Abroad Submitting a Suggestion/Concern
Kentucky Law JournalKJEANRL
2014 Lassiter ConferenceAdjunct FacultyFaculty DirectoryFaculty in the MediaStaff Directory
About Law-ITClass RecordingsClassroom TechnologyFree SoftwareKeep your files safeLaptop RecommendationsLaw IT PoliciesLibrary Printing
Alumni AwardsAlumni DiscountsAlumni EventsAlumni Hall of FameDean`s CircleDevelopment/Alumni StaffGiving OpportunitesGolf Tournament Keep Us InformedLafferty SocietyLaw Alumni AssociationLaw NotesLibraryThank You to our DonorsVisiting Committee
Career Development OfficeFor AlumniFor Current StudentsFor EmployersFor Prospective StudentsPoliciesStatistics - Employment
About UK/CLECLE StaffProceed to UK/CLE.com
Legal Clinic StaffLegal ExternshipsLegal Writing DocumentsTax Clinic
AudioKY Supreme Court LiveVideo Archive